Highlighting talent in the sector

The GMA Industry Awards have revealed their finalists for the 2023 ceremony.

Highlighting talent within the sector, the organisers say the awards recognise the contribution made by grounds staff across the country. 

The event, which will be held at Headingley Stadium on Wednesday 29th November, will be hosted by sports broadcaster, Hayley McQueen, and will give grounds teams the opportunity to celebrate their vital role in making sport possible.   

The finalists are:
Young Groundsperson of the Year (Sponsored by Origin Amenity Solutions) 
Brad Jeffries - Lincoln City Football Club 
Bethany Gibbs - Wellington School 

Newcomer of the Year  
Louis Macklin - Ibstock Place   
Meg Lay - Gloucestershire CCC  
Bethany Gibbs - Wellington School  

Volunteer Groundsperson or Team of the Year  
Clapton Community Football Club 
Tom Banks - Kirkoswald Football Club 

Community Groundsperson or Team of the Year  
Yeovil Recreation Centre   
Stanley Park Sports Ground  

Environmental and Sustainability Impact (Sponsored by Syngenta) 
Yeovil Recreation Centre   
Leicester City Football Club 

Bowls/Croquet Groundsperson or Team of the Year  
The Hurlingham Club  
Wantage Bowls Club  

Best Managed Artificial Surface of the Year  
Yeovil Recreation Centre   
University of Warwick  

Professional Cricket Grounds Team of the Year  
Marylebone CC  
Warwickshire CCC

Professional Tennis Courts Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Infinicut) 
Queens Club   
Devonshire Park 

Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team of the Year  
Lingfield Park Racecourse  
York Racecourse 

Professional RFL Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Agronomic Services LTD) 
Castleford Tigers  
Leeds Rhinos  

Professional RFU Grounds Team of the Year  
Harlequins F.C  
Bath Rugby  

Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year  
Derby County Football Club 
Wigan Athletic Football Club 
Stockport County Football Club 

Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year (Elite) (Sponsored by SGL) 
Leicester City Football Club 
Liverpool Football Club  

University & College Grounds Team of the Year  
University of Leicester   
Loughborough University  

Independent School Grounds Team of the Year (Sponsored by Platinum Sponsor Iseki UK & Ireland) 
Aldenham Foundation  
Eton College 
As well as the above categories, there will be a special award presented to GMA Grounds Manager of The Year (sponsored by DLF Seeds)
Jason Booth, chief operating officer of the GMA said. "It is always such a pleasure to see the number of teams and individuals that take the time to submit applications for the GMA Industry Awards. This year, the standard of submissions has been remarkably high, and we’re delighted to have seen a raft of new entrants across the categories.  
“With only two months to go until we meet at Headingley Stadium, I’d like to extend my thanks to everyone who put forward an application demonstrating their talent within the sector as well as extending those thanks to our independent judging panel who volunteered their time to carefully deliberate over every submission."

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.